7/7/17 New Release Roundup

Wolf Alice – Don’t Delete The Kisses: The second track from Wolf Alice’s upcoming second album is nowhere near as angry as the first cut from the record, but it is just as good, with Ellie’s vocals sounding strong without being vicious. 85%

dodie – 6/10: The new single from dodie starts off as a subtle piano ballad before the vocals layer up beautifully towards the end of the track. 84%

Ella Taylor – summer sun: This shoegazey, summery track from Ella has real charm to it, with a subtle synth melody over the top of the lo-fi vocals. I like the little groovy synth bit right at the end too. 85%

Ghostpoet – Freakshow: Another great single from Ghostpoet, Freakshow has a similar tone to previous release ‘Immigrant Boogie’ but this track packs more of a punch, with a really catchy repeated guitar riff in the chorus. 90%

AlunaGeorge – Turn Up The Love: This is a really catchy synth-pop song from AlunaGeorge, which is exactly what you would expect from them really. 75%

Coldplay – A L I E N S: Unfortunately this seems to echo more of Coldplay’s dull and uninspired ‘Ghost Stories’ album rather than their last, joyful, colourful album that was the best they had been for a long time. Shame. 40%

Zedd and Liam Payne – Get Low: He really is the worst one from 1D isn’t he? 20%

Mura Masa ft. Tom Tripp – helpline: Another great track from Mura Masa’s upcoming self-titled album, with another great collaborator in Tom Tripp bringing great vocals to the cut. 80%



21/4/17 New Release Roundup 


Paramore – Hard Times: Hard Times is the 1st single from Paramore’s upcoming album ‘After Laughter’ and is an upbeat, catchy electro-pop track. 80%

Lady Gaga – The Cure: This single was released after Gaga debuted it live during her Coachella headline set last weekend, and is another pop banger from the Lady, a return to that sound after her Joanne album. 84%

Ghostpoet – Immigrant Boogie: The first track from Ghostpoet since his 2015 album ‘Shedding Skin’ is another great piece of off-kilter indie pop, with Obaro’s vocals really shining against the dark production. 91%

Lana Del Rey & The Weeknd – Lust For Life: Another collab from Lana and Abel, the first being on The Weeknd’s Starboy album last year. An atmospheric, delicately produced track, with both artists’ vocals working well together. Standard from LDR. 77%

Marie Danielle ft. The Felice Brothers – Soldier: Marie has a nice voice, but this track is really cringey, with lyrics including ‘he was a son of gun’ ‘I know where I belong’. 20%

Albums & EPs:

Shamir – Hope: Hope is a surprise, free release from Shamir and it comes with an almost completely different sound than his debut album, ‘Ratchet’ from 2015. Short, Lo-Fi and indie-rock inspired, this is a departure from the overt pop of his past – it’s very very good. 87%

Maximo Park – Risk To Exist: This is the 6th full studio album from Newcastle’s indie faves, and proves they still have that clever songwriting along with catchy guitar based melodies that made their first album so successful. Risk To Exist has some great tracks, with ‘Get High (No I Don’t)’ being one of the best from the band so far. 90%

SOTD 14/11/16- Massive Attack & Ghostpoet: Come Near Me

Come Near Me by Massive Attack with Ghostpoet is song of the day:

This track comes from Massive Attack’s recent single ‘The Spoils’, and features Mercury nominated artist Ghostpoet on vocals.

You can find the full songs of the days playlist below, with recent additions from Bad Family, Childish Gambino and Jake Houlsby.